Noticing improvement/drum instructor?

veteran players offer advice to beginners, beginners ask questions and discuss past experiences - here you can find and post easy lessons, exercises and articles

Moderators: Kaitou, sxetnrdrmr, billc36, iDrum, Novak, PanasonicYouth

coldstone21 Offline
noob
noob

Noticing improvement/drum instructor?

Posted: Wed Dec 27, 2017 1:27 am

I am currently a sophomore at my high school and am learning to play snare for our drumline which is starting next year. I am a trumpet in our marching band and I have never played percussion in a formal band setting although I do practice drumming on my own and recently I have gotten an instructor. My instructor is a general percussion instructor and I am not sure if he has enough experience to help me with marching snare. He has mentioned some experience but he hasn't ever marched DCI, which is my long term goal to make. Should I look for a new instructor or would he be good enough to start learning from? Also I am practicing daily, but I'm not noticing as much improvement as I'd like to see. I was wondering if there could be a better way to gauge my skill level? (I can't find anyone else to compare to.) I am asking this because, as I mentioned earlier, my long term goal is to eventually march in a DCI battery. I have been teaching myself snare for about a year but I really don't know if I'm improving enough to tell if DCI should be a goal of mine. Is there a good way to measure skill level on snare, and if so how can I tell if i'm improving?

VoteLobster Offline
ramming notes
ramming notes

Re: Noticing improvement/drum instructor?

Posted: Wed Dec 27, 2017 4:58 pm