Advice?

veteran players offer advice to beginners, beginners ask questions and discuss past experiences - here you can find and post easy lessons, exercises and articles

Moderators: Kaitou, sxetnrdrmr, billc36, iDrum, Novak, PanasonicYouth

Winxclub3309 Offline
noob
noob

Advice?

Posted: Thu Jul 30, 2015 12:19 am

I'm a freshman starting out as tenors and I'm a bit worried. I'm a 5'2" female and have been drumming for only 7 months. This week is my band camp week but my drum carrier is still too low for me. Half of my belly plate is on my hips and it's pretty hard for me to march. I don't mind the weight of the drums but my carrier is killing me. Also any advice to keep in mind for the season is greatly appreciated. (Technique or other helpful advice) thank you!

Spirit Snare 80 Offline
chops master
chops master

Re: Advice?

Posted: Thu Jul 30, 2015 3:17 am

Perhaps your band director or a "band dad" with tool skills could alter the carrier somewhat to help
with your problem. You could add extra padding around the edges of the plate to help with comfort, but ultimately it sounds like the carrier will need a structural alteration.

Sounds like your line is young if you are a freshman playing tenors with only 7 months of experience, so my guess is that you will not be playing scrapes or crossovers any time soon.
Focus on the basics of proper playing. Basic motions using 8's would be a good starting point.
Keep the drum changes simple. I have found that published music can be awkward, so feel free to alter your part to fit your present abilities. (under the guidance of your director or percussion instructor if you have one.)
Husband, Dad, Music Educator, Drummer

billc36 Offline

Posted: Thu Jul 30, 2015 6:25 am

What brand of carrier is it? It's possible that it hasn't been adjusted in every way possible to make it more comfortable.

My posts are mine and mine alone.