Not into playing drumset.

discuss everything else here

Moderators: Kaitou, sxetnrdrmr, billc36, iDrum, Novak, PanasonicYouth

Quadpower101 Offline
playin' eights
playin' eights

Not into playing drumset.

Posted: Sat Aug 03, 2013 6:52 pm

I am in the drumline at my school. I love playing my quads. I think it is challenging, but extremely enjoyable. I used to want to learn set, but I never followed through. As of know, I am not into playing set. Since I am a drummer, is this bad, weird, or uncommon?

TheKingofNone Offline
ramming notes
ramming notes

Re: Not into playing drumset.

Posted: Sat Aug 03, 2013 8:21 pm

Nope. You just don't like it. It's like asking if a trumpet player is weird for not liking baritone, it's two completely different instruments, styles of music, technique... It's cool.
You cant just 'hit' a drum; you have to beat the s*** out of it. ~Eric Cartman

GSUS '15

I'm that guy who says he'll try out for drum corps next year and never does.
But I'm totally gonna try to march Alliance this summer.

Quadpower101 Offline
playin' eights
playin' eights

Posted: Sat Aug 03, 2013 9:07 pm

Ok thanks! I really was just wondering because my neighbor gave me his drumset about 2 years ago, and I used it for about, a month, but I never got into it as much as I did marching drums. So,now its just in my room and I rarely touch it. Thanks for clearing that up for me!

hotbeats645 Offline
Jeff Queen
Jeff Queen

Posted: Sun Aug 04, 2013 12:34 am

no, drum set is one of the younger percussion "instruments" (aside from vibraphone and steel pan maybe). percussion has such a broad history over so many cultures that it's fine to not be into everything. drumset is a very valuable skill to have though, as a percussionist
I play and teach music (sometimes even band music!)

I work in music tech and licensing.

Music is an art and positive energy.

cobemon Offline
paradiddler
paradiddler

Posted: Sun Aug 04, 2013 5:01 pm