How do YOU teach?

discuss whatever it is that instructors discuss

Moderators: Kaitou, sxetnrdrmr, billc36, iDrum, Novak, PanasonicYouth

ghostsnare101 Offline
ramming notes
ramming notes

How do YOU teach?

Posted: Fri Jun 03, 2011 10:30 pm

I'm curious about how some of the other people here teach. I teach in a fun way. There is discipline when there needs to be and there is having fun when there needs to be. Basically I have a line between them because if you too hard on the kids they won't have fun and they won't want to do it. If your too social with them then all they want to do is talk and not listen to what you have to say. Basically all my kids respect me but do not fear me which I think is a good thing. They come to me with their problems when they need advice and that's the best part about being a teacher I think because your involved in the learning in a kids life. After all isn't that what this activity is about? (I feel like there is another thread on this but I looked and didn't find it)
Columbia City High School

2006 - Confinment - Baritone
2007 - Through and Through - Bass drum one
2008 - The Hunt - Baritone
2009 - Fusion - Snare
2010 - Heritage Independent Percussion - Bass Drum 3

Buranri Offline
chops master
chops master

Re: How do YOU teach?

Posted: Fri Jun 03, 2011 10:41 pm

Personally, I like a teacher who is both. They're social during water breaks (and provide an adequate amount of them, not one every 3 hours in a stifling hot room) but make a clear distinction between how you act during a water break and during rehearsal.
Spokane Thunder
Cascades
Matrix

Facebook

schorsquatch Offline
ramming notes
ramming notes

Posted: Sat Jun 04, 2011 12:05 pm