Skinny Quad player, But AMAZING hands

discuss Drum Corps International and Winter Guard International news / gossip / etc

Moderators: Kaitou, sxetnrdrmr, billc36, iDrum, Novak, PanasonicYouth

breneman Offline
noob
noob

Skinny Quad player, But AMAZING hands

Posted: Fri Dec 25, 2015 12:50 am

I am going to keep this short and to the point. I am a sophomore in High School as of 12/25/2015, and want to march quads for the Bluecoats. I can play through all of their music without hitting any rim, but I am kind of skinny. I can definitely march quads, but I don't want to get cut for being too skinny. What do I do?

breneman Offline
noob
noob

Re:

Posted: Fri Dec 25, 2015 12:55 am

And forgot to mention, up to/ beyond given tempo. I can also learn music fairly quickly.

joe356 Offline
ramming notes
ramming notes

Re: Re:

Posted: Fri Dec 25, 2015 8:35 am

breneman wrote:And forgot to mention, up to/ beyond given tempo. I can also learn music fairly quickly.

There have been plenty of skinny quad players over the years. They're not going to cut you for that. They will cut you if they find out you can't move well, or can't hold the drums up. The best thing you can do to make sure that you don't run in to that problem is to show up strong enough to move as well as you say you can play.

That being said, being able to play their notes up to speed will have very little bearing on whether or not you make the line. They'll be looking for a specific technique, sound and approach, and that will come first. You can play all the notes you want, but if you can't play simple things with the sound they're after, none of those notes will matter.

breneman Offline
noob
noob

Re:

Posted: Fri Dec 25, 2015 4:47 pm

Thanks for the tip. Now I know what to work on. Thank you

poofypuffs Offline
noob
noob

Re:

Posted: Tue Mar 29, 2016 7:36 pm