Tenors, Height, and Weight

discuss Drum Corps International and Winter Guard International news / gossip / etc

Moderators: Kaitou, sxetnrdrmr, billc36, iDrum, Novak, PanasonicYouth

Girl Offline
noob
noob

Tenors, Height, and Weight

Posted: Sun Aug 03, 2014 5:10 pm

Hello I am an incoming High School Sophomore. I'm 5'5, weight about 125 lbs, and I'm a girl, the only girl in my high school battery and was the shortest one of all. I tried out for tenors this year, and I made it. But my mom is worried about me having back problems later in life because of this. I marched 2nd bass last year, but I really do want to march Tenors! My friend who marched Tenors for the same high school for 2 years and is now a Sophomore in college, said they are not ass heavy as you might think, bit I rememebered him he's 6 ft tall and stronger than me. I was in soccer for 4 years, and is always active but I am a bit scared and worried I won't be able to march Tenors the right way :| The Tenors we march are about 50 - 60lbs, So any tips maybe? Someone as tiny as me and about my weight maybe has marched them and has some suggestions? I'm scared but happy at the same time.

joe356 Offline
ramming notes
ramming notes

Re: Tenors, Height, and Weight

Posted: Sun Aug 03, 2014 6:05 pm

First of all, I'd be surprised if the tenors your school marches weigh 60lbs. Unless they're a significantly older model, I'd guess they're more in the ballpark of 35-40. Dynasty's tenors are generally considered to be the heaviest on the market, and the heaviest configuration clocks in around 35 lbs pre-carrier.